when you receive a cisco switch it is by default set to server mode out of the box... be sure to set it to transparent mode before deployment...
Server
can create, add, delete and/or change vlan information. these changes are added throughout the VTP domain
Client
listen for advertisements and modify their own configurations as a result. a server is required by the client for vlan changes. a client cannot create, add or delete vlans
Transparent
can forward or receive vlan advertisements but otherwise do not participate in the domain...
you can see right through them... so there...