network cisco ccna gns3 certification arteq

network cisco ccna gns3 certification arteq
a network runs through it

Search insearchofthecert

Sunday, December 23, 2012


and so it goes...

The Modular QoS CLI (MQC) Three-Level Hierarchical Policer extends the traffic policing functionality by allowing you to configure traffic policing at three levels of policy map hierarchies; a primary level, a secondary level, and a tertiary level. Traffic policing may be configured at any or all of these levels, depending on the needs of your network. Configuring traffic policing in a three-level hierarchical structure provides a high degree of granularity for traffic policing. 

but wait, there's more...

The Modular quality of service (QoS) CLI structure consists of the following three processes:

Defining a traffic class with the class-map command.

Creating a traffic policy by associating the traffic class with one or more QoS features (using the policy-map command).

Attaching the traffic policy to the interface with the service-policy command. 

A traffic class contains three major elements: a name, a series of match commands, and, if more than one match command exists in the traffic class, an instruction on how to evaluate these match commands. The traffic class is named in the class-map command line; that is, if you enter the class-map cisco command while configuring the traffic class in the CLI, the traffic class would be named "cisco". 

The match commands are used to specify various criteria for classifying packets. Packets are checked to determine whether they match the criteria specified in the match commands. If a packet matches the specified criteria, that packet is considered a member of the class and is forwarded according to the QoS specifications set in the traffic policy. Packets that fail to meet any of the matching criteria are classified as members of the default traffic class. 

in other words:

name it, match it, interface it

No comments:

Post a Comment